55 Questions – Part 1

I read this meme on ‘A Work in Progress’ here a couple of weeks ago.  I found it quite interesting to read about other people’s reading habits, so I decided to have a go myself. I split it into two parts, otherwise it would be too long, I think.

1. Favorite childhood book?
Matilda, by Roald Dahl

2. What are you reading right now?
The sandcastle, by Iris Murdoch

3. What books do you have on request at the library?
None

4. Bad book habit?
I am a book hoarder, unfortunately, I tend to buy more than I read.

5. What do you currently have checked out at the library?
Nothing, I do not subscribe to the library.

6. Do you have an e-reader?
No, but I am considering getting one. I am not so fond of the musty smell of old books. Plus, e-books don’t take up physical space, which is also a plus I think.

7. Do you prefer to read one book at a time, or several at once?
One book at a time, please.

8. Have your reading habits changed since starting a blog?
Though I’ve only started blogging recently, I notice some changes immediately. I am marking passages, which is something I never did before. Also, I think about the books I read a lot more.

9. Least favorite book you read this year (so far?)
I struggled with ‘Miss Smilla’s sense of snow’ by Peter Høeg. It was hard to put down at first, but at some point I stopped caring about what was happening any more and kind of skimmed to the end.

10. Favorite book you’ve read this year?
‘The awakening’ by Kate Chopin. It really made me think differently about my own life, which surprised me, since it was written such a long time ago.

11. How often do you read out of your comfort zone?
I think about half of what I read is out of my comfort zone.

12. What is your reading comfort zone?
Classics, historical fiction, detective fiction.

13. Can you read on the bus?
Not really, trains and underground are ok though.

14. Favorite place to read?
In bed.

15. What is your policy on book lending?
If someone is interested in reading one of my books I have no problem with lending them. I do try to write down what I lend to whom, so I can ask them at some point how they are getting on.

16. Do you ever dog-ear books?
No.

17. Do you ever write in the margins of your books?
No.

18. Not even with text books?
Text books are different, here I write a lot in the margins, usually in pencil, so I can erase later if I change my mind about my commentary.

19. What is your favorite language to read in?
This is a tough one, I read in English mostly, but I love to read in German most of all. I feel a very strong connection with this language. My native language is Dutch by the way.

20. What makes you love a book?
Again, a tough one. I love careful character development and I particularly love it if events bring a character to evolve and mature. Usually, I prefer books that are character- rather than event-driven.

21. What will inspire you to recommend a book?
Usually, if it changed me or caused me to think differently about something.

22. Favorite genre?
Historical fiction.

23. Genre you rarely read (but wish you did?)
I’d love to read more of the women’s or domestic fiction published by Persephone Books.

24. Favorite biography?
So far, I don’t think I’ve ever read a biography.

25. Have you ever read a self-help book?
Kind of, I’ve read a book by the Dalai Lama.

This entry was posted in Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 55 Questions – Part 1

  1. Pingback: 55 Questions – Part 2 | 88 Novels

Leave a Reply

