55 Questions – Part 2

This is part 2 of the 55 questions meme, the first part can be found here.

26. Favorite cookbook?
Most of my inspiration for cooking is found on the internet, so I don’t have one that springs to mind.

27. Most inspirational book you’ve read this year (fiction or non-fiction)?
‘The awakening’ by Kate Chopin.

28. Favorite reading snack?
When I am engrossed in a book I forget everything around me, including food.

29. Name a case in which hype ruined your reading experience.
I’ll pass on this one, can’t think of an example.

30. How often do you agree with critics about a book?
Most of my book recommendations nowadays come from blogs, so I cannot really comment on this. Usually, after I’ve read a book I will search for reviews online. I usually find some interesting insight on the book that I didn’t think of myself.

31. How do you feel about giving bad/negative reviews?
I think it is important to be honest about your reading experience, without becoming offensive. If I don’t get on with a book I generally stop reading pretty quickly. I would not bother to finish it. If prompted, I would give my reasons why I stopped reading. But since I didn’t finish the book, I would be in no position to review it. So I don’t think you will see totally negative reviews on this site. If I do carry on reading, despite there being some elements that I don’t like, I will give a mixed review, highlighting the aspects I liked as well as the ones I didn’t like as much.

32. If you could read in a foreign language, which language would you chose?
Most of my reading is in a foreign language, either English or German. I would actually prefer to read more Dutch literature, rather than learn another foreign language.

33. Most intimidating book you’ve ever read?
I’d say ‘War and Peace’, or maybe ‘Moby Dick’. I found both hard to put down and so they weren’t intimidating at all, really.

34. Most intimidating book you’re too nervous to begin?
‘Der Zauberberg’ by Thomas Mann. I’ve tried a couple of times, but never got past the first 200 pages or so. At some point in my life I will completely read this, but right now I don’t feel like giving it another go.

35. Favorite Poet?
I know very little poetry. Most of what I know about reading and literature is self-taught from various sources. Poems are a lot harder to appreciate than novels without having good explanations and interpretations.

36. How many books do you usually have checked out of the library at any given time?
None.

37. How often have you returned book to the library unread?
Back when I was still subscribing, regularly.

38. Favorite fictional character?
The Big Friendly Giant, from Roald Dahl’s book.

39. Favorite fictional villain?
The monster from ‘Frankenstein’, although I am not convinced he really is a villain.

40. Books I’m most likely to bring on vacation?
Anything I look forward to reading.

41. The longest I’ve gone without reading.
Months, easily. That is part of the reasons why I started this blog. To make sure that I didn’t stop reading anymore, since reading actually gives me a lot of joy.

42. Name a book that you could/would not finish.
‘Arthur and George’ by Julian Barnes. I am not sure why, I tried twice.

43. What distracts you easily when you’re reading?
Noise, especially the television.

44. Favorite film adaptation of a novel?
The BBC miniseries of Pride and Prejudice.

45. Most disappointing film adaptation?
Can’t think of anything really, I don’t watch many films.

46. The most money I’ve ever spent in the bookstore at one time?
About fifty euros, I think.

47. How often do you skim a book before reading it?
Regularly. I find it easier to pay attention to details if I already have a clue about the plot of the book.

48. What would cause you to stop reading a book half-way through?
If I don’t like it, I usually stop sooner.

49. Do you like to keep your books organized?
It’s nice to have some form of organization, but I am not very strict about this sort of thing.

50. Do you prefer to keep books or give them away once you’ve read them?
It depends. I love passing books on to my sister.

51. Are there any books you’ve been avoiding?
Not really, although I do tend to avoid books that are very hyped. I don’t always get along with best-sellers, so I am a bit cautious there.

52. Name a book that made you angry.
‘Uniform Justice’ by Donna Leon. The villain got away with a murder, which is something I usually get angry about.

53. A book you didn’t expect to like but did?
The Harry Potter series. I am not usually so much into hypes, but these books I enjoy a lot, even though I think Harry can be a very irritating character.

54. A book that you expected to like but didn’t?
‘Arthur and George’ by Julian Barnes. From what I’ve read about it, it sounded like something I’d love, but I couldn’t connect with it. So I stopped at about 25 % of the book.

55. Favorite guilt-free, pleasure reading?
I read for pleasure only. I sometimes challenge myself and try to read something that is outside of my comfort zone. But if a book does not give me pleasure of any kind, it’s not for me.

This entry was posted in Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

