J.K. Rowling – Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows

I don’t think this book requires further introduction. For me, this is was a re-read and the first book I finished in 2011. I read this when it first came out in 2007. After I saw the movie that was made of the first part of the book, I realized that I had forgotten most of what happens and decided to re-read to find out how it continues.

I really love the Harry Potter series, which I did not expect. These are not like other books I like to read. For starters, I am not really fond of any of the characters. I don’t really like Harry, Ron or Hermione. Furthermore, I usually find it hard to read books that have a lot of action and suspense. When reading such a book, I want to know what happens so bad that I forget to pay attention to the description of details, to the writing, to the atmosphere that is created, etc.

What I really admire, throughout the series and particularly in this book is the plotting. As a reader you keep finding pieces of a puzzle that you thought was already complete. There were quite a lot of times, where I thought I knew about event X, yet found out something that made the meaning of event X entirely different. On top of that, J.K. Rowling has created an amazing world and an amazing cast of characters. A world that you wish existed and people that you would like to be friends with. And really, that is to me what matters most in a book. A book has won me over, if, upon finishing, I feel sorry to have to leave and will even miss the world that was created by the author.

Probably, I will read this book again in a couple of years. The good thing about my being such a bad reader of action-packed books is that there are always plenty of details I don’t pick up which then make the re-read a lot of fun.

This entry was posted in Reviews. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

